Faculty Senate Online Meeting Minutes Date: January 29, 2024

Time: 12:30-1:45 pm

Fall FS meetings will be held <u>online</u>.

Affiliation	Name			
College of the Arts				
Art and Design, School of	Sandee Chamberlain			
Dance	McCree O'Kelley			
Music, School of	Jeffrey Yunek			
Theatre and Performance Studies	Jacqueline Springfield			
College of Architecture and Construction Management				
Architecture	Michael Carroll			
Construction Management	Lantz Holtzhower			
College of Computing and Software Engineering				
Computer Science	Victor Clincy			
Information Technology	Ying Xie			
Statistics and Analytical Sciences	Austin Brown			
Software Engineering	Hassan Pournaghshband			
Coles College of Business				
Accountancy, School of	Kent Altom			
Economics, Finance and Quantitative Analysis	David Bray			
Information Systems	Carole Hollingsworth			
Management, Entrepreneurship, and Hospitality	Shelby Meek			
Marketing and Professional Sales	Randy Stuart			
Bagwell College of Education				
Educational Leadership	Albert Jimenez			
Elementary and Early Childhood Education	Scott Ritchie			
Inclusive Education	Zachary Johnson			
Instructional Technology	Yeol Huh			
Secondary and Middle Grades Education	Jillian Ford			
WellStar College of Health and Human Services				
Exercise Science and Sport Management	Chad Goebert			
Health Promotion and Physical Education	Matthew Lyons			
Social Work and Human Services	Cameron Greensmith			
Nursing, WellStar School of Nancy Ballard				
College of Humanities and Social Sciences				
Communication and Media, School of	Minhao Dai			
Conflict Management, Peacebuilding and Development,	Heather Pincock			
English	M. Harper			

1				
World Languages and Cultures	Thierry Leger			
Geography and Anthropology	Susan Smith			
History and Philosophy	Amy Donahue			
Interdisciplinary Studies	Rebecca Hill			
School of Government International Affairs	Stephen Collins			
Psychological Science	Daniel Rogers			
Sociology and Criminal Justice	Melanie Holland			
Technical Communication and Interactive Design	Snehal Shirke			
College of Science and Mathematics				
Chemistry and Biochemistry	Michael Van Dyke			
Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology	Nicholas Green			
Mathematics	William Griffiths			
Molecular and Cellular Biology	Dale Vogelien			
Physics	David Garofalo			
Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering				
Technology				
Civil and Construction Engineering	M. A. Karim			
Computer and Electrical Engineering Sumit Chakravarty				
Engineering Technology Jeff Wagner				
Mechanical Engineering	Sathish Gurupatham			
Mechatronics Engineering	Ying Wang			
Systems and Industrial Engineering	Lin Li			
Horace W. Sturgis Library				
Department of Library Resources	Christin Collins			
Department of Public Services	Judy Reardon			
Honors College	Nicholas Ellwanger			

Guests

Aaron Howell
Stephen Bartlett
Amy Buddie
Karin Scarpinato
Anissa Vega
Bryan McGovern
Yvonne Wichman
Glen Meades
Robin Cheramie
Robin Cheramie Sumanth Yenduri
Sumanth Yenduri
Sumanth Yenduri Karen Kornweibel
Sumanth Yenduri Karen Kornweibel Doug Moodie

Lesley Netter-
Snowden
Leigh Funk
Lynn Lamanac
Pam Cole
Amy Phillips
Karen McDonnell
Lori Lowder
Ivan Pulinkala
Catherine Kaukinen
Sherrill Hayes
Adrian Epps
Vishnu
Suppiramaniam

Online Faculty Senate Meeting Expectations

- 1. Voting will be carried out electronically (link will be available in the chat window) and will be tracked. **Please only vote if you are a senator.** A non-senator voting will result in an immediate permanent ban from the faculty senate.
- 2. Use the "Raise your hand" feature in order to be recognized.
- 3. Motions will be preferred over discussion items so that we typically have action items on the floor.
 - a. To further promote discussion, the president of the faculty senate will begin by calling for dissenting opinions. If there are no dissenting voices, we will be able to call for a vote directly and increase efficiency in our meetings.
- 4. Please familiarize yourself with Robert's Rules of Order: https://assembly.cornell.edu/sites/default/files/roberts rules simplified.pdf

Welcome

Susan Kirkpatrick Smith

New Business

1. Approval of consent agenda and December meeting minutes (5 minutes)

The FS chair, Susan started the meeting and ask for any corrections or items to take off from the consent agenda. There was no response from anyone. So, the consent agenda was accepted as it is. Similarly, she asked for any corrections on the December 4, 2023, FS meeting minutes. There was no response. So, the December meeting minutes was accepted as it is.

Away from Item 1, Susan and Todd started a conversation about SDS, types and the number of forms to fill out by the faculty. Susan assures us that she would send a survey after the meeting for the faculty to provide with info for training/meeting requirement in either campus or preferences of the types of trainings/meetings.

2. Out of State Work policy motion – Amy Donahue and Stephen Bartlett (10 minutes)

Amy Donahue and Stephen Bartlett presented a motion on out of state work policy that urges the administration to cease enforcing elements of the revised policy that are not required for legal compliance with state employment laws; to retract revisions to the policy not required for legal compliance; and to follow institutionally prescribed shared governance structures and procedures for further revisions to the policy. Several senators took part in the discussions of the motion. Heather Pincock seconded the motion. Suzan put a survey in the MS Team screen. 38 senators cast their votes: 36 voted yes (95%) to pass the motion and 2 voted no (5%) to reject the motion. The motion passed with significant majority.

3. Best Practices Committee update and discussion – Todd Harper (45 minutes)

Todd Harper presented the Best Practices Committee report as to how we can improve and make it compatible with peer university practice. He presented 4 major issues were identified on the report as follows:

- 1. Structure and Membership of the Senate.
- 2. Support for Senate Executive
- 3. Faculty Senate Committees and their Structure
- 4. Policy Process

About 12 people took part in the discussions. Major discussions were surrounding the Administration response to passed senate motion, communications, dissemination of feedback to senators, and general faculty, etc. No motion was carried to approve the report. It was just for discussion and feedback. The report will be available to senators and at some point in time to the general faculty.

4. Provost's report (5 minutes)

As a response to the discussions in Item 3, Provost ensured that he and the president carefully review the FS resolutions and provide comments/suggestions mostly oral. He mentioned that he and the president meet monthly FSEC and twice a semester with FS president and the FS president elect. However, he would be happy to discuss if written response is sought by the senate. He had two quick updates: 1) Retreat on Friday with academic affairs leadership to discuss the implementation new 5 point scale for faculty evaluation, how scores reflect with workload. He highlighted weighted average score how to calculate based on the workload distribution. He clarified that average score of 3.5 will be rounded to 4.0 and 3.4 to 3.0. Academic affairs team is working to embed the weighted average calculation in Watermark to avoid any human errors. 2) PTR implementation, based on the new policy and KSU is the only institution to implement monetary reward for PTR score of 4 and 5. KSU implemented the new PTR process successfully.

5. President's report (5 minutes)

Due to travel, the president could not attend the FS meeting today.

1/29/24, 1:47:36

End time

PM