Faculty Senate Meeting 12:30-1:45 May 6, 2024

Online Faculty Senate Meeting Expectations

- 1. Voting will be carried out electronically (link will be available in the chat window) and will be tracked. **Please only vote if you are a senator.** A non-senator voting will result in an immediate permanent ban from the faculty senate.
- 2. Use the "Raise your hand" feature in order to be recognized.
- 3. Motions will be preferred over discussion items so that we typically have action items on the floor.
 - a. To further promote discussion, the president of the faculty senate will begin by calling for dissenting opinions. If there are no dissenting voices, we will be able to call for a vote directly and increase efficiency in our meetings.
- 4. Please familiarize yourself with Robert's Rules of Order: https://assembly.cornell.edu/sites/default/files/roberts-rules-simplified.pdf

Affiliation	Name
College of the Arts	
Art and Design, School of	Sandee Chamberlain
Dance	McCree O'Kelley
Music, School of	Jeffrey Yunek
Theatre and Performance Studies	Jacqueline Springfield
College of Architecture and Construction Management	
Architecture	Michael Carroll
Construction Management	Lantz Holtzhower
College of Computing and Software Engineering	
Computer Science	Victor Clincy
Information Technology	Ying Xie
Statistics and Analytical Sciences	Austin Brown
Software Engineering	Hassan Pournaghshband
Coles College of Business	
Accountancy, School of	Kent Altom
Economics, Finance and Quantitative Analysis	David Bray
Information Systems	Carole Hollingsworth
Management, Entrepreneurship, and Hospitality	Shelby Meek
Marketing and Professional Sales	Randy Stuart
Bagwell College of Education	
Educational Leadership	Albert Jimenez
Elementary and Early Childhood Education	Scott Ritchie
Inclusive Education	Zachary Johnson
Instructional Technology	Yeol Huh
Secondary and Middle Grades Education	Jillian Ford

WellStar College of Health and Human Services	
Exercise Science and Sport Management	Chad Goebert
Health Promotion and Physical Education	Matthew Lyons
Social Work and Human Services	Cameron Greensmith
Nursing, WellStar School of	Nancy Ballard
College of Humanities and Social Sciences	
Communication and Media, School of	Minhao Dai
Conflict Management, Peacebuilding and Development,	Heather Pincock
English	M. Harper
World Languages and Cultures	Thierry Leger
Geography and Anthropology	Susan Smith
History and Philosophy	Amy Donahue
Interdisciplinary Studies	Rebecca Hill
School of Government International Affairs	Stephen Collins
Psychological Science	Daniel Rogers
Sociology and Criminal Justice	Melanie Holland
Technical Communication and Interactive Design	Snehal Shirke
College of Science and Mathematics	
Chemistry and Biochemistry	Glen Meades
Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology	Nicholas Green
Mathematics	William Griffiths
Molecular and Cellular Biology	Dale Vogelien
Physics	David Garofalo
Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology	
Civil and Construction Engineering	M. A. Karim
Computer and Electrical Engineering	Sumit Chakravarty
Engineering Technology	Jeff Wagner
Mechanical Engineering	Sathish Gurupatham
Mechatronics Engineering	Ying Wang
Systems and Industrial Engineering	Lin Li
Horace W. Sturgis Library	
Department of Library Resources	Michelle Lee
Department of Public Services	
Honors College	Nicholas Ellwanger

Guests

Amy Buddie
Bryan McGovern
Michelle Head
Anissa Vega

Aaron Howell
to decide the state of the stat
Lori Lowder
Kathy Schwaig
Lynn Lamanac
Carmen Skaggs
Lucy Ackert
Greg Wiles
James Davis
Hazem Rashed-Ali
Ivan Pulinkala
Kristina DuRocher
Sumanth Yenduri
Juliet Langman
Catherine Lewis
lan Ferguson
Lisa Duke
Leigh Funk
Pam Cole
Vishnu Suppiramaniam
Ruth Goldfine
Gregory Paul
Yvonne Wichman
Nathalia Jaramillo
Karen McDonnell
Nwakaego Nkumeh Walker
David Garofalo
Cole Stratton

Susan Kirkpatrick Smith

- 1. AI Transcription/Minutes in Faculty Senate Meetings (5 minutes)
- 2. Updates on Previous Actions (5 minutes)
- 3. Final call for nominations and vote on FSEC Membership (5 minutes)
 - a. Current Candidates
 - President elect
 - o Glen Meades
 - Secretary
 - o Austin Brown
 - Parliamentarian
 - o NO CANDIDATE YET
 - Kennesaw Campus Representative
 - o Kent Altom
 - Marietta Campus Representative

M. A. Karim
Vote for approving the candidates: Passed (32 to note) Candidates approved.

New Business

- 4. Vote for ad hoc Committee on Committees members (2 minutes)
 - a. Heather Pincock
 - b. Carole Hollingsworth Canedy
 - c. Susan Kirkpatrick Smith
 - d. Nancy Ballard
 - e. Todd Harper
- 5. Vote for approving the ad-hoc committee members candidates: Passed (32 to note) Candidates approved.
- 6. Robert's Rules: https://youtu.be/RwCeE9_xaR4?si=JmwA29cmQeC8uC9x
- 7. Free speech resolution Jillian Ford (15 minutes)

Jeffrey Yunek: The Kennesaw State University Faculty Senate affirms our support for the Kennesaw students and their allies who engage in civic action by participating in protest and freedom of speech. We further call on Kennesaw State administration to exercise restraint in its use of campus disciplinary processes for students, staff, and faculty who participate in these forms of free expression.

David Bray: are the KSU students' "allies" the outside agitators who come onto our campus and we've seen arrested nationally?

Nicholas Green: Can we see the entire motion? The pop up is blocking the text Matthew Lyons: It is in the chat in the most recent message from Jeffrey Jeffrey Yunek: Yes.

Vote to support motion on free speech as amended: 22 to 13 (not passed)

Salary adjustment transparency – Heather Pincock and Stephen Collins (15 minutes)

Glen Meades: I think the use of "inequities" here leaves its definition open to interpretation intentionally, as a point of the resolution to be defined in the requested explanations. Vote to support the Salary Adjustment Transparency Resolution (33 to 2) Motion passed Vote to support the resolution on Faculty salary equity (34 to 2) Motion passed

- 9. HR Policies Melissa Hernandez and Karen McDonnell (15 minutes)
 - a. ADA Reasonable Accommodation Policy
 - b. Performance Management and Progressive Discipline Policy
 - c. Pregnancy Accommodation and Worksite Lactation Policy
 - d. Service and Emotional Support Animals on Campus Policy
 - e. Smoke-Free and Tobacco-Free Policy
 - f. Teleworking Alternative Work Schedule Policy

Glen Meades: It is my understanding that all these HR policy changes are mandated language updates based on federal law or USG policy, based on hearing them at the CDA meeting and again here.

Vote to approve these HR motions: 31 to 2 (approved)

- 10. Information Item: Affirmative Action Policy Sonia Toson (3 minutes)
 - a. Affirmative Action Policy

Vote to approve the Affirmative Action Policy (30 to 4)

- 11. President's Update Kat Schwaig (5 minutes)
- 12. Provost's Update Ivan Pulinkala (5 minutes)

(to be provided in writing regarding the salary compensations).

Moved to adjourn:1:54 PM.