Committee on Academic Freedom

The Committee on Academic Freedom (CAF) exists to ensure adherence to the principles of Academic Freedom laid out by the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) in Section 2.1 of the Faculty Handbook. It should be considered a preliminary step for faculty or students prior to engaging in the formal grievance process. Members of the CAF are selected by the Faculty Senate for their expertise in Academic Freedom.

Individuals who believe their Academic Freedom may have been violated should feel free to email the CAF chair ( or fill out the Academic Freedom Complaint (AFC) form below.

Members of the Committee on Academic Freedom (appointed by the Faculty Senate):

  • Humayun Zafar (2022-2027)

  • Andy Pieper (2023-2028)

  • Hans Skott-Myhre (2021-2024)

  • Marrielle Myers (2023-2025)

  • Rebecca Peterson (2021-2026)

One of the University Ombuds 


If you have an issue you want to bring to the attention of the Committee on Academic Freedom, please complete the form below. You are not required to include your identifying information, but if you want feedback from the committee, you will need to provide your name and email address or phone number.